Reviews

  • Fantastic trekking experience

    We had a fantastic trek on the Manaslu Circuit with Nepal Gateway Trekking. The company was very accommodating since we booked the trek while we were already on the road backpacking which made it difficult to send the deposit but they were very understanding. We were met at the airport and brought to our hotel and given a thorough briefing of what to expect on the trek while our permits were taken care of for us. We felt very well taken care of before we'd even started the trek. We had Ram as our guide and he was great - had lots of interesting things to tell us and so much experience on the trek (and all the others!). He knew the teahouses well (which ones had the best food in each village!) and tailored the trek as we went according to how energetic we were each day. He also knows some great evening card games!

    The trek itself is spectacularly scenic. We didn't find it overly taxing - it's just the altitude that becomes a factor as you get higher. We purposely had our longer days in the beginning so we could have shorter ones as the going got slower. We hiked in September 2018 and had great weather and no crowds - it was a great time to do the trek. We had a great experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Nepal Gateway Trekking and Ram - you'll be glad you did!





     

    Amanda Sakura
    Amanda SakuraCanada, Travel Date: 30/04/2019
  • Best Ever

    We did the Everest Panorama Trek in March 2019... Not too sure what to expect we pitched up at Khatmandu airport and from there we were looked after by Raj and his team. I can’t praise the organization enough... It was the best adventure I’ve had on a holiday... The views and mountains were breathtaking and the best part was the flexibility. Raj advises and we decide, but his decisions allowed us to see the real Nepal, staying away from the mainstream Tea Houses and seeing and staying with the locals, and meeting some interesting people along the way... Back in Khatmandu the Hotel which is a great comfy hotel with a roof terrace with views over the city...We were offered a reasonably priced guided tour with Raj and a driver around the city which is well worth doing...
    Thanks to you all at Nepal Gateway Trekking... We will be back for more...

    Wendy and Andrew Bryett
    Wendy and Andrew BryettUnited Kingdom, Travel Date: 14/03/2019
  • Thank you for the most special journey of my life!

    Chomolungma (Mt. Everest, Sagarmatha)
    Kia Ora Goddess, Mother of Planet Earth
    60 years I dreamed of you
    First to climb like Tenzing and Hillary
    Now to gaze in awe at you,
    Majestic, Supreme, Glorious
    Flanked by courtiers Lhotse, Nuptse, Lola
    You kiss the sky
    I bow my head in gratitude, Kia Ora

    Thank you, Raj, Ram, and especially my guide/porter/friend Dinesh for helping me fulfill my dream of climbing Kala Pattar and getting up close to mighty Chomolungma.
    You took the utmost care to make my trip special, a vivid, wonderful memory for the rest of my life. I will always remember exiting the Khatmandu Airport terminal and seeing Dinesh’s smile of welcome and placard with my name. The Moonlight Hotel was a perfect choice for my night in Thamel. Raj provided wise counsel regarding the current Lukla weather, the challenges of flying, and the helicopter alternative. When I got the word at the airport that Lukla was fogged in I quickly found 4 others to share a chopper. Raj and Ram later provided documentation to support my successful insurance claim with Nomad Insurance.

    Every day on the trail was a delight and my warm-hearted companion Dinesh answered all my questions about the surrounding mountains and local culture. All the guest house accommodation was spectacular with highlights being the Green Tara in Namche and the New EBC Guesthouse in Lobuche. After every nutritious dinner, I received a special dessert plate of sliced apple and pomegranate! I like to hike at a steady clip and Dinesh was always just behind like a ninja warrior! My excitement reached a feverish pitch when we arrived at Gorak Shep at 9.30 am after 7 days on the trail. We enjoyed a light brunch of soup and rice and then began the ascent of Kala Pattar. I wanted to run upwards in my haste to see Chomolongma but oxygen depletion and good sense prevailed. I maintained a steady pace and after 30 minutes I was rewarded with my first unimpeded view of the Goddess in all her unsurpassable glory. We paused breathlessly gazing at her magnificence. After another 30 minutes, we were sitting on Kala Pattar's narrow, prayer-flag bedecked, summit. Chomolungma revealed all from lofty summit to glacier foundation. Words like rapture, ecstacy, relief, gratitude, wonder, and awe were insufficient. I sat silently in the warm sun as tears of emotion gently filled my eyes. I read my ode to Chomolongma while Dinesh made a video with my smartphone. It is now two months later and I still struggle to describe the emotions I experienced in the presence and under the watchful eye of Chomolungma, Goddess Mother of Planet Earth.
    Kia Ora Dinesh, Ram, and Raj…thank you for the most special journey of my life!

    Peter Riley
    Peter RileyNew Zealand, Travel Date: 09/03/2019
  • My first trek was in Nepal

    Me and fiancé went to Nepal on February 3rd and went back home on the 9th. It was the third time my fiancé visited Nepal, but it was my first time there and it was a blast!

    We went on a trek with Raj on the 4th, starting from Thamel to Chisapani (6 hours trek), then Nagarkot (8 hours trek), and ended in Bhaktapur (4-5 hours trek).
    We could see Everest from afar during our trek from Chisapani to Nagarkot. It's so beautiful!

    We're so lucky that the weather was nice and Raj was so helpful during our trip. He told us what kind of food to get and what's special about Nepal, the culture, heritage, and history.

    The rain started when we were in Bhaktapur and the temperature went down very quickly. During that time of the year, long sleeve and warm clothes is needed and proper walking shoes or boots for the trek.
    I'd love to visit Nepal again! It's one of the experiences that I'd never forget.

    "Heaven is a myth but Nepal is real."

    Melina Yudha
    Melina YudhaCanada, Travel Date: 28/02/2019
  • Annapurna Khayer Lake Trekking with my family

    I was looking less clouded trekking trail in the Annapurna region with my daughter and husband. I was looking for different options with different trekking tours. After final taking through what’s app, Raj from Nepal Gateway Trekking company makes us 17 days itinerary including Kathmandu valley sightseeing, trekking, and free days in Pokhara.

    We had a good guide Ajit and porter Manoj make our trip more fun. Every day my daughter can play cards game when we reach at the camp. Some days we had rain and snow with clouds but the trail was not so crowded. We couldn’t see a great view of Annapurna due to bad weather every day. One day when we were at Khayer Lake, we saw a nice view of the snow Peak Mountains. We also visited some local villages and schools where my daughter had a chance to learn about Nepal's traditional culture and lifestyle. Pokhara is also another beautiful lake city for rest and looking around after trekking in the mountain region.

    Drive by bus to Pokhara was beautiful but longer than we expected so that we took a plane to Kathmandu. We had a chance to see all the historical and cultural places with city guide Lil. We are happy to recommend Nepal Gateway trekking who are going to Nepal and looking local guide. You can ask us if you want to more about this trip.

    Carolin Suhayda
    Carolin SuhaydaGermany, Travel Date: 27/01/2019
  • Thank you all for a fabulous holiday

    Hello Nepal Gateway Trekking Company, 
    We just wanted to thank you all for a fabulous holiday in Nepal . Our mountain guide Dinesh and other staff Suet were excellent through the trek, fast enough to get to accommodation in good time and slow enough to take in the amazing scenery. We both had a great time and collected unforgettable experiences from this  Annapurna Panorama view trek. 
    We will certainly recommend you guys to others. Thank you. Maybe we will visit again soon.

    Valerie and Kevin
    Valerie and KevinUnited Kingdom, Travel Date: 20/12/2018
  • Mardi Himal Trek October 2018

    I have been meaning to write this since the day I returned, as usual life got in the way (weak excuse I know) and I really wanted to add some pictures but still haven't sorted them out, I will add them later but I couldn't wait any longer to write a review about Raj.
    So I had just completed a 400-odd km Charity Bike Ride in Nepal and decided to stay on and trek for the first time in my life. I had read a review, actually not about Raj but about another tour group however, Raj was mentioned as he helped them out in a serious situation that was beyond their guide's capabilities. I then contacted Raj and there were so many obstacles to us actually meeting up but something inside me just knew I had to have this man as my guide and eventually we met up in Pokhara. He did indeed travel up from Kathmandu to meet me.
    Raj has so many wonderful qualities but his demeanor and the way he calmly deals with all situations were a blessing to me. My boots, both of them, split, within only a few hours of our 6-day trek, I was flapping like a helpless child but he helped me fix them, and in fact, they actually lasted all the way to the hotel after the trek, lol. Raj is a wealth of information about nearly everything that you see, hear and taste and many of the other guides would consult with him during our time together. He loves and cares for his environment and shares his knowledge willingly. He seems to know your limits better than you and encouraged me to do things I would never usually have done, successfully I must add. He is open to changing plans and in fact, our best section of the trek was a day we went off the usual tracks and he used his natural tracker abilities to navigate us to our destination through a truly untouched route. Even after the trek, Raj continued to assist me with my plans in Nepal. I could go on and on waxing lyrical about this man who I now call a friend. All I can say is wouldn't hesitate for a single second to recommend Raj to anyone of any age for any trek with any number of people. Raj is not only a true professional but an absolutely lovely gent and I am already planning my return to Nepal and I wouldn't trek with anyone else. When it comes to Nepal, Raj, he is Da Man...

    David Lewis
    David LewisUnited Kingdom, Travel Date: 28/11/2018
  • Annapurna Circuit Trek Experience

    Dear  Dinesh, Surat, Ram, and Raj,
    Just a short note to thank you all Nepal Gateway Trekking team for a great time in Nepal! I just got back to Europe and wanted to say that I had a fantastic time with guide Dinesh and porter Surat. Thanks also for the flexibility to accommodate me adding the trip to Annapurna Base Camp too after the successful Annapurna Circuit Trek - that was a highlight!
    Looking forward to seeing you again in the future. 

    Kevin O'Flynn
    Kevin O'FlynnIreland, Travel Date: 18/10/2018